Hayama Hayato (葉山 隼人) points "the worst ending" of the problem the planning committee to everyone. (Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabukome wa Machigatte Iru. Oregairu My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, as I Expected. My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU やはり俺の青春ラブコメはまちがっている。 俺ガイル 果然我的青春戀愛喜劇搞錯了。 anime ep 10)

Oregairu Analysis – “LOVE Plan ♥” of Hayama Hayato During The Cultural Festival? The Time to Reveal This Has Come! (The First Part)

What do you think if I will reveal “LOVE Plan” of Hayama Hayato (葉山 隼人) (The First Part) that happened in the Cultural Festival? The story of Hayama during the School Cultural Festival, was not shown clearly because the story (in anime season 1 ep10-11, LN v6) focused on the main characters (Hikigaya Hachiman (比企谷 八幡), Yukinoshita Yukino (雪ノ下 雪乃), Yuigahama Yui (由比ヶ浜 結衣)) and Yukinoshita Haruno (雪ノ下 陽乃) more than him, but Hayama himself tried to hide his plan so no one will know what he thought and felt back then, so while I are arranging the latest analysis about Haruno, it appeared that that post is too long more than too long analysis I ever wrote, so I carried “his secrets” to this post instead.

Hayama’s love plan(s) to catch attention of “that girl/woman” is not what you should miss. I will say that his intelligence is beyond the boundary, or should I say, I am surprised in “the management” of the author of Oregairu. If he will launch Oregairu (Hayama version), I will be the one who will pay for it for sure. I will say that every times Hayama thinks the strategy, he will think about it carefully even Hachiman would be speechless and open his mouth for sure, if he knows Hayama’s plan.

But I will tell you one thing that while I am writing Oregairu analysis about this character that people always see his as the nice & popular guy that you might meet people like him in real life, after I can catch some thoughts and feelings of this character, it appeared that I started to see him as a normal human who will always do anything for his own satisfaction, sometimes he helped other people too, and tried his best. However, he always has hidden intention when he answers people’s expectations, but he hides them well. So when I wrote that I will reveal every of his love strategies I found, along with his feelings and thoughts during the School Cultural Festival. All of his doing, for gaining attention from “that person”.♥♥♥

This post is [the first part] of Hayama’s love plan that will tell you anything I found about 1/2. And I will write the rest in [the last part], I hope you will not be confused.

but before proceed…

  • Please read Attention page first, to let you understand that my all analysis are not 100% right.
  • Spoiler alert!! And I recommend you to read/watch Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru. (やはり俺の青春ラブコメはまちがっている。), Oregairu (俺ガイル) LN/anime/manga Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabu Kome wa Machigatteiru. -Monologue- (やはり俺の青春ラブコメはまちがっている。-妄言録-) and manga @Comic before proceed.

However no matter how effective his love plan(s) are, and he will make sure his plan must be confidential, it’s not easy if “the person” he has feeling for, is interested “another boy” and never look at Hayama like that (he has no choice but select “Hard mode” since this is the only choice in the screen). But I will not say Hayama planned all of these before the Cultural Festival will start. But I will say that after he lost that boy in “a secret competition” in LN v4 and it seems he admitted his defeat.

But when I read in v6, it appeared that his mind is ready to fight (although his rival never know what Hayama is thinking about him at all). This is not fair fight, but this is the war, not sport. Why does he need to tell his love rival that he will win her heart and defeat him? Come to think of it, I will say that his love rival never know “who is that person Hayama ever mentioned” in v4 that she is looking for him. Hayama never tell the name of that person.

Before I will start…


If you want to know which character Hayama said to his love rival that she is looking for him, you can read in this post.

Before I will start to reveal Hayama’s love plan in full detail, if you wonder who is his crush I mentioned, you can read in Oregairu Analysis – Finally, “Y” in Hayama Hayato’s Heart Was Revealed.  If you know who is that person, it will be easier for you when you read my analysis from now on. And in this analysis ⇑, if you don’t know Hayama’s love rival, this analysis can help.

And about the secret competition I wrote previously, if you read this analysis, you will know Hayama started to compete with his love rival in LN v4, but it’s secret fight, no one know but him only.


The School Cultural Festival
The daytime
LN v6, anime ss1 ep10-11, manga -Monologue- v4-5

If you reach to this point, I will guess that you know two characters that will get involved in Hayama’s love story. So I think it’s safe to reveal their names. Hayama’s crush is Haruno and his love rival is Hachiman!!

If you have other characters in mind, you can be right, but I still recommend you to read my analysis above. After you finish reading this post, feel free to give my your opinion and questions.


After you know who is sitting in Hayama’s heart, before you will proceed more than this, I will say that “her secret mission” to help her little sister, Yukino, is so interesting you should not miss, and it happened at the same time of his love plan too. So you will know her feelings and thoughts during the School Cultural Festival too. If you are interested in her route, read more in

Yukinoshita Haruno (雪ノ下 陽乃), the guardian of Yukinoshita Yukino (雪ノ下 雪乃). (Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabukome wa Machigatte Iru. Oregairu My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, as I Expected. My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU やはり俺の青春ラブコメはまちがっている。 俺ガイル 果然我的青春戀愛喜劇搞錯了。 anime ep 10)Oregairu Analysis – “LOVE Plan ♥” of Hayama Hayato During The Cultural Festival? The Time to Reveal This Has Come! (The First Part)her and his existences are the factors of his drive.

Oregairu Analysis – “LOVE Plan ♥” of Hayama Hayato During The Cultural Festival? The Time to Reveal This Has Come! (The Last Part) – Not available yet.


So all preparation is ready. But are you ready? I will use the original reference (LN v6) mainly, because some scenes about Hayama didn’t show in other mediums. If he wants to steal her heart from Hachiman because he realized that Haruno is looking for Hachiman (in LN v4, anime ss1 ep8), what should he do to achieve that goal? What he needs is “opportunity”. Then after he was defeated secretly by his love rival during the summer vacation, he would look for the opportunities to catch her heart. So the next event he think it’s suitable is not more than the event she ever participated, The School Cultural Festival!!

The notice: Hayama is not the male representative.

So I will skip to the period when Sagami Minami (相模 南), a character in the his class, who was recommended by him and Tobe Kakeru (戸部 翔) to be the female representative for their class and needs to attend the committee meeting. I will not analyze for now why he didn’t volunteer himself to be the representative or although people would recommend him to be this, this time he didn’t answer everyone’s expectations, until Hiratsuka Shizuka (平塚 静), the homeroom teacher of his class, decided to write Hachiman’s name instead. The answer of this mystery will be revealed soon.

The hidden reason why Hayama wants to go to the committee room.

ps. This scene doesn’t appear in anime and manga -Monologue-.

In this v6 c 4, at first, I don’t think much when Hayama goes to the committee room with Hachiman to pick the application there. But when I notice he asks Hachiman if he can go to that room with Hachiman to pick up some documents, I think it’s weird. So I think at first, maybe Hayama wants to observe him like when he did in LN v4? Or maybe he can’t go to the room alone so he needs to go with Hachiman? I don’t think so. I saw him can stand in front of many people, so it’s impossible he is scared to go the room he never go before.

But my first assumption about he wants to observe Hachiman beside him, is not right. Because if he wants to do that for real, the author must wrote his expression while he is walking with Hachiman, like in v4. Then why? With my assumption fails, I will conclude that he doesn’t want to observe him at all, but look for someone. So if I will assume that he wants to see Haruno, he needs to check out where she should go first (if she is coming to the school).

Haruno is the one who ever attended at Sobu High and graduated already, I don’t know he knows she ever was the chairwoman or other activities she participated in this festival or not, but since the festival that she ran when she was the chairwoman became the blast, it’s my random thought but it’s high possible that he would know her story since is it weird to want to know the legend/story of the person you are interested, when that person was in the school? Since he is the student in the same school as her, he can find these info from anyone who know her story when she was in the school (I smell fan club).

And although Hayama doesn’t know about Haruno’s legend, he would guess that she might come to the school to recall her past and to meet some people she likes because she didn’t meet them for a while, you can guess who? (Yukino, Meguri, Hachiman, even Hiratsuka-sensei too)

But I don’t think it’s because Haruno wants to meet these people only, because Hayama himself gives me the assumption that he thinks Haruno might go to the committee room if she wants to participate in activities or wants to help the planning committee to be close with her little sister, she needs to go to the committee room first, to fill the application for the volunteer first, and send it to the committee (this is just me, or the document Hayama wants to pick, it’s the same as the document Haruno must come to fill).

So if he wants to meet her again or wants to check she will come to the school or not, he needs to check at the room she would go. That’s why he goes to that room, because although Haruno wants to participate in the festival, she would not go to prepare work she wants to do for the festival “at the first day” she comes to the school, she would talk with people she locks target more than rushes and prepare work. Or in case she wants to meet people only, if she goes to the committee room, at least she must find Meguri and her sister for sure, and has conversation with them. She can prepare work in the next day.

And please don’t forget she ever was the chairwoman last year, so it’s possible she will come to the committee room because she ever worked there.

But if you ask me, I think Hayama think Haruno might come to the school for all reasons I wrote above, and with those reasons, it’s high possible she will come. So what he will do to look for the one he has feeling for, is to check at the committee room.

Why does Hayama say he wants to go to the committee room with Hachiman?

But the remained question is why does he asks Hachiman if he can go to the committee room with him to pick up some documents? If he wants to do some little job like that, he doesn’t need to go with him. And when he says like that, he is suspicious for me, because in LN v4, when he talked with Hachiman, he said coldly that he wouldn’t be friend with him.

Hayama Hayato (葉山 隼人) admits his defeat. (Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabukome wa Machigatte Iru. Oregairu My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, as I Expected. My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU やはり俺の青春ラブコメはまちがっている。 俺ガイル 果然我的青春戀愛喜劇搞錯了。ep 8)

So you remember his name.

Well again, if you read my Oregairu analysis that are relate to this character, you would know why he said like that to Hachiman. He decided that Hachiman is his love rival. So in LN v6, when he says he will go to the room with Hachiman, I don’t understand why he wants to go to the room with his love rival. Or maybe the answer has something connect with the one he wants to see in that room? Well, let see.

When both of them reached the committee room, they notice some people are gathering in front of the room. And it seems Hayama doesn’t come to the room with Hachiman. So I will assume he wants to stand in front of the room and searches with his eagle eyes (as the meaning of his name) first. And yes like Hachiman thinks, when you see people are in front of the room, you can guess there’s something happen that makes people stare inside the room. So if my assumption about Hayama’s reason to go search for Haruno, I think he would be hoping she would be there, so people are looking at a woman they never meet before and she is not the student or teacher.

And yes, his hope or his wish finally comes true, the one he is wanting to look for, appears for real. Music!!

When Haruno notices Hachiman and is greeting him, don’t forget Hayama is still standing in front of the room. So when he is watching the one who he has feeling for, spots the one she is looking for and greets “that boy” excitedly like that, you can imagine how he is feeling when is watching this scene. So I can understand when he comes to the room and stands next to Hachiman (without any sound of foot steps, maybe he is ninja?). But when I see the illustration at this point, I see he stands in front of Haruno. As if he wants to stop her to not come close to Hachiman (his love rival) more than that, because Hayama feels so je*****. And I can feel Haruno realizes how he is feeling toward her already (but I notice from her reaction when she freezes when Hayama stops her, but yes, this is just me, maybe…).

Well, maybe the reason why Hayama says he wants to come to this room with Hachiman would be around this area. I am not sure but I feel that he wants to give Haruno… silent warning. I mean… he will not let her approach to the love rival he hates while he is watching, and wants to tell her that he is not pleased. Maybe when he says he wants to come to the room with Hachiman, he might predict that if she sees Hachiman in the room, she would be delighted ♥♥ and approach to him for sure, so if he goes to the room with his love rival who makes her feels so interested, he can check her feeling toward his love rival. And I assume he knew the answer from her reaction already.

Finally, Hayama gets the answer.

Like what I wrote earlier about the reason Hayama wants to come to the committee room. He wants to see Haruno and confirms she will participate in the school cultural festival too or not. After he saw Haruno got permission from Sagami, although she doesn’t fill the application yet, this confirms that she will be the volunteer and will visit to the school for sure. That’s why after that, he says something as if he finally get the conclusion for his own suspicion. He just recalls that he comes here to pick up the documents, and leaves quickly. Although Hachiman heard his remark and wants some explanation from him a bit, he has no any intention to tell love rival why he said like that after all.

If you believe in my assumptions about him, what do you think he is feeling right now, when he knows the one he has feeling for, will participate in this festival too? ♥♥♥ (I heard shouting somewhere)

Why does Hayama volunteer to be the representative of volunteer organizations?

The trial still continue and it seems the situation is worse. Anyone who still stay and work are shouldering more burden because people who spend time in the class, are increasing. When Hayama comes to the conference room and realizes the situation, is trying to convince Yukino to rely on others. And he volunteers to help them.

Hayama Hayato (葉山 隼人) WANT to volunteer to be the representative of volunteer organizations. (Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabukome wa Machigatte Iru. Oregairu My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, as I Expected. My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU やはり俺の青春ラブコメはまちがっている。 俺ガイル 果然我的青春戀愛喜劇搞錯了。 anime ep 10)

Let me help (for my own purpose).

“No, I’ll coordinate the volunteer organizations, and nothing more. Basically, I’ll act as their representative.”

If you see someone outsider wants to light the burden, you would be grateful. Even Hachiman thinks Hayama’s help will help them a lot, no wonder about it. Also sharing work with others is reasonable and suitable. The work in the planning committee is not something just few people can do it. To work on a large scale, you need more people. So when Hayama sees the situation, he says he wants to help. I think people will be grateful in his good intention.

However, I think Hayama is expecting something. If we sees him as the nice guy, you who think he just wants to help people only. But I think he is normal human, who will do anything for his sake as the first priority, for the sake of other people is second. At first, I thought he is the nice guy for real, and didn’t see something weird in his doing. But right now, there are many things that make me think he should not volunteer to do hard job like that.

  1. The coordinate work is not easy work. Because you need to contact with related departments, and that is not just one time only, as long as the work doesn’t end, you need to be in active. And if Hayama says he will be their representatives, the workload to coordinate with other people will increase many times. And he can’t be slow.
  2. Don’t forget he must practice for the performance of the class. If he insists to accept the hard job like the coordination, his workload will be more than I can imagine although he is the top students. He needs time for practicing for the performance of the class too.
  3. Then why did he [not volunteer] or [accept] to be the male representative of his class and works in the planning committee? If Hachiman was chosen by a certain homeroom teacher, it means no any boys want to do it. I think most classmates would vote for Hayama. I don’t know what happened in the class back then, since LN focused via Hachiman’s point of view, and he was in the infirmary back then. So it means that Hayama didn’t volunteer himself to be the male representative, or he refused to accept this. So I think why does he volunteer to take hard job although he himself refused or didn’t volunteer to work in the planning committee at the beginning?

    Hiratsuka Shizuka (平塚 静) chooses Hikigaya Hachiman (比企谷 八幡). (Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabukome wa Machigatte Iru. Oregairu My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, as I Expected. My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU やはり俺の青春ラブコメはまちがっている。 俺ガイル 果然我的青春戀愛喜劇搞錯了。 anime ep 10)

    The chosen one.

  4. My suspicion in 3) is still remain, so I will look back at my assumptions about him wants to check out Haruno will participate in the cultural festival or not. If my assumptions earlier are correct, I can get the answer for 3). I assume that he just the normal boy who wants “attention” from a certain woman who he found out that she will work in the school festival or not, Haruno.
  5. If my assumption in 4) is correct, I can explain why he was not the male representative of the class. If he knew Haruno will participate, and he knew before the representative selection will happen, I think he might volunteer to be the representative, since he knows he can meet her many times because she will often come to the committee room (Yukino will be there too, so Haruno will come to visit often). But he didn’t know Haruno will just visit to the school as the alumni or she will participate in the festival. So if he is not sure she will participate, working hard in the committee room is not the wise choice , because she will not show up at the conference room often if she visits as the alumni. So he will not be the representative. In order to show off so he can gain more attention from her, he needs to find where she can see him.
    So he needs to do work in the classroom and if you finish read this LN v6, you will know he will play the music too. If Haruno didn’t participate to do work in the festival, he still get attention from her by playing in the performances (like music), what she likes. So he would know how to get attention from her. But after he checked out in the committee room and realized she will participate in the festival too, I think just this reason makes him want to coordinate with the volunteer organizations (the person he wants attention is there). If he accepts this job, he will has good excuse to see her often when she is preparing the musical performance (and if he is lucky, he can even watch her enjoy the performance). Moreover…
    When he knew that her sister, Yukino is getting trouble, I think for him, it’s one of best opportunities to get more score by helping her sister. If he can be the representative to do coordinate work, when he has the chance to coordinate with Haruno’s group, I think she will notice that he is helping her sister by volunteering to do this hard work. I assume he knows Haruno is the smart one, she will realize in his doing for sure. Please don’t forget he watched the conversation (Sagami, Haruno and Yukino), so he knew he can find the chance to help her sister. Helping her sister is the effective way to get high Haru scores from Haruno, since he would know she cares for her sister the most.
Hayama Hayato (葉山 隼人) points

I’ll make them worried.

Although this is my assumptions only, but when I look at all of places he will visit and work, those places have Haruno there. And I think Hayama’s story still doesn’t end yet. Don’t forget he is the first person who mentioned the situation of the planning committee, I assume that he wants everyone feel worried about this problem so his offering help is the next step and reasonable. Pointing to “the worst ending” that everyone don’t want to let it happen but it might happen soon, is the key.

Even Hayama can regret.

Right now, as the representative of the volunteer organizations, Hayama will always coordinate with the planning committee. So it means every time he comes to the room, he will see there are less people who are working. I will skip to when Sagami visits to the conference room again and sees him is working there. I don’t know he knows about her new policy or not, but when he sees the vice chair, Yukino is working hard while he didn’t see the chairwoman, he realized that Sagami is skipping her duty. As the nice guy, he can’t question directly why she doesn’t work, but I think he doesn’t feel well in her doing, and it’s not because she is skipping, but maybe, different reason.

If he realized that Sagami are skipping her own duty and making the situation in the planning committee worse, if we look back, he was the one who convinced her to accept to be the female representative, she ended up here because of him. So although I thought he plans to help the planning committee for “his own purpose”, but when he saw Sagami and co. came to work so late, I think maybe, somewhere in his mind might want to lift the burden of the committee, but this is my assumption only.

The hidden hostility of Hayama.

ps. The conversation between him and Hachiman didn’t happen in anime. And I don’t mean yaoi at all, Ebina-san.

Hiratsuka Shizuka (平塚 静) tells Hikigaya Hachiman (比企谷 八幡) & Shiromeguri Meguri (城廻 めぐり) that Yukinoshita Yukino (雪ノ下 雪乃) took a day off. (Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabukome wa Machigatte Iru. Oregairu My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, as I Expected. My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU やはり俺の青春ラブコメはまちがっている。 俺ガイル 果然我的青春戀愛喜劇搞錯了。 anime ep 10)

Hiratsuka-sensei tells Hachiman that Yukino took the day off because she wasn’t feeling well. Hayama and Meguri listened to sensei’s new so they need to check up on her. But Meguri needs to deal with the big incident that is relate to the slogan. So he and Hayama need to decide who will go to Yukino’s apartment. While they are picking reasons up who is the most suitable to do that, I notice something after this is… weird. I don’t mean Hachiman since he is thinking about this issue because we can read his monologue clearly, but I notice something wrong in Hayama’s remark. To tell you the truth, I don’t know why Hayama is angry so suddenly (judge from this remark).

Hayama’s gaze clashed with mine directly in front of me. “I’m going to say this while I can, but I don’t think you’re deadweight at all. You managed work from all the sections as an assistant, so there shouldn’t be anyone who can say that you’re useless.

From his remark, I notice Hayama’s anger is bursting out, or his hostility is showing in his reaction and keywords. At first, I thought he wants Hachiman to have more self-esteem or something like that. But this assumption can’t explain about Hayama’s emotion when he said like this. So when I look in his remark again, I notice some words (red words above) that makes me rethink. And with his reaction when he is talking with Hachiman (Hayama’s gaze clashed with mine directly in front of me.), I think it as if, Hayama is picking a fight with Hachiman. And this his remark (I’m going to say this while I can), I will let you imagine when someone is angry and say this remark, what will you feel? I think this also support my new assumption that Hayama’s emotion right now is not what Hachiman will expect.

So I tried why he feels like that. If I look via his point of view, Hachiman tells him to go since someone thoughtful and useful would be better. Hayama is surprised after heard this but questions him back that if it’s like that, someone thoughtful and useful stayed instead. I don’t know why Hayama is acting in a boastful way, but if he is misunderstanding Hachiman’s remark?

If he misunderstand by thinking that Hachiman is intimating that the one who is not thoughtful and useful, should stay?

So if Hayama is thinking Hachiman is intimating like this, I can understand why he said to him back as if he is acting in a boastful way to Hachiman. We know Hachiman has no any intention to look down upon Hayama at all. So I review via Hayama’s story instead. I don’t know you read my analysis about “Y” of Hayama yet, but I think you would read my assumption about he wants attention from Haruno already. So I assume that Hayama knows Haruno is looking for Hachiman and her eyes don’t look at him after all, so he feels inferior to Hachiman automatically since the only boy/guy she is taking an interest, is Hachiman only, not him. So when he heard Hachiman says like that, although Hachiman didn’t mean like that, Hayama interprets Hachiman’s remark that he is abusing him. I will say that just a normal remark from his love rival can make Hayama misunderstands and acts like that.

If my assumption above is correct, I can explain another reason why Hayama is angry. If he is misunderstanding Hachiman, and thinking Hachiman is intimating him, I assume that Hayama demands Hachiman reconsider who is the most thoughtful and useful. If Hachiman says he himself will go, I think Hayama will be satisfied in his victory quietly because Hachiman surrenders, and he (Hayama) who is better than him, should stay and do work here, the one who is not, should go. All of these happened in Hayama’s head only so it can explain Hayama’s inferior feeling to his love rival. He is not satisfied until he can beat Hachiman down. You can notice when Hayama and Hachiman are alone (no one nearby), he will show his hidden feeling that he can’t show to other people (even his friends) to Hachiman only, since he doesn’t care how he will feel. But since Hachiman believes Hayama is the nice guy, the nice guy will not feel like that. So Hachiman is scary a bit when he realizes that even the nice guy like Hayama, can has negative emotions. Because it’s not consistent with Hayama’s image.

So if my assumptions about Hayama are correct, you might see why Hayama hurts Hachiman when he is talking with Sagami at the roof top. But I will explain more later.

Even Hayama can feel lonely.

But although Hayama acts like that, it seems Hachiman’s belief (Hayama is the nice guy) never waver. So it means his hidden feeling just now never reach him at all, because he still thinks “Hayama is capable and everyone needs him”. When you look via Hayama’s point of view, although he hates and destoyed Hachiman’s opinion down, his love rival still force “the good guy” image to him. Actually, Hachiman believes Hayama is the good guy for real, but this is the image he sees from Hayama. So Hayama can’t believe in Hachiman’s words for real, since he judges him by outer appearance only, not his true self. That makes him feel lonely because no matter he shows a bit of his true feeling, his rival will not notice his feeling, will not look at him.

Hayama clicked “Angry” to Hachiman.

Hayama Hayato (葉山 隼人) is observing people while Hikigaya Hachiman (比企谷 八幡) is preparing his mind. (Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabukome wa Machigatte Iru. Oregairu My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, as I Expected. My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU やはり俺の青春ラブコメはまちがっている。 俺ガイル 果然我的青春戀愛喜劇搞錯了。 anime ep 11)

choose this seat to look at “her” perfectly?

Skip to the first Hachiman’s sacrifice, in the meeting to discuss the slogan for the Cultural Festival. Hayama and Haruno also are here and he is watching what happened in the conference room. After the dark warrior cast Meg@nte until the case closed and Yukinoshita sisters got effected by his spell, you can notice Hayama just left and didn’t say anything to Hachiman.

At first, I ever thought he just doesn’t like Hachiman’s sacrifice so he left, he doesn’t want to see Hachiman hurt himself like that. But I ever wrote his hidden intention to want Haruno interests in him. So I will rethink again. Hayama until now is trying his best in the coordinating with the volunteer organizations so he can show her he is trying his best to help her little sister and he can meet Haruno more often. But when he saw his love rival did something that amazed Haruno (she is the only one who responds Hachiman’s sacrifice in positive way) a lot.

Yukinoshita Haruno (雪ノ下 陽乃) laughs like crazy because her secret plan was destroyed by Hikigaya Hachiman (比企谷 八幡) although he doesn't need to do that. (Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabukome wa Machigatte Iru. Oregairu My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, as I Expected. My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU やはり俺の青春ラブコメはまちがっている。 俺ガイル 果然我的青春戀愛喜劇搞錯了。 anime ep 10)

It’s your fault!!

And when Hachiman is explaining to Hiratsuka-sensei, if you look via Hayama’s point of view, everyone still focused on him, but I don’t think he cares others except the only one. Although Hayama hates to see Hachiman gets her attention, he can’t do anything but watch Hachiman’s show until the end. His rival made Haruno contents of his bravery and Hayama can’t switch off TV so she can’t see the show, but it’s not enough, his rival can eliminate the worst environment for the planning committee, along with identify the troublemaker at one fell swoop, and he didn’t try to be nice with everyone who caused this situation at all, while he himself tried to work hard, help everyone in facade.

The inferior complex of Hayama toward Hachiman and his dissatisfaction when Haruno is very pleased in Hachiman’s declaration are the factors that made Hayama is so angry to his rival and left, didn’t say anything to Hachiman. In the situation right now, everyone are still there, so he who is the nice guy, can’t show his feeling openly in public. It’s not like when he was with his rival alone previously, he doesn’t mind to show his true feeling (but still didn’t say why he felt like that to his rival) to Hachiman. So when he holds his feeling and leaves, it’s understandable.

Mouse over at each pics to see what’re in their minds.

Please imagine when you are seeing the girl you like, is very pleased in the bravery of another boy, not you, and in her eyes, there’s the image of that boy only. It’s like his love rival got high Haruno scores, while he didn’t get anything.

Hayama thinks “How to” of Hachiman is [making himself as a victim].

Since Hayama misinterpreted that Haruno likes Hachiman’s doing ONLY, and it’s because he himself never care why Hachiman did this, since he is just a love rival who he hates only. As the result, he concluded that Hachiman tried to make himself as a victim of the society. The victim of the society is the outstanding being but not in the positive way. I assume that Hayama interpreted from Hachiman’s remarks when he reported to Hiratsuka-sensei only, so it’s not weird for Hayama to think that Hachiman tried to be a victim because Hachiman himself was the one who said that.

Although Hachiman just wanted to tell everyone and Hiratsuka-sensei about his suffering alone in the bad environment. He didn’t know about everyone in the committee much and he can’t say loudly that everyone who are working hard are victims either, so pointing himself is the victim should be more suitable.

Everyone will interpret people’s thoughts and feelings via their doing and words only.

So this is how Hayama misunderstood about Hachiman’s intention. Hachiman didn’t do this to be a victim, but Hayama thinks Hachiman believes in Hachiman’s report. Hayama who is trying his best to be the nice guy of the society, can’t make himself a victim like Hachiman did, because he is like other people, have no any reason and courage to stand in the victim’s position. But although he doesn’t like to stop to be the nice guy, Haruno is the one who likes the person’s doing, the doing that rejects what he is trying to be. That’s why her attention was poured to Hachiman (victim), not him (the nice guy). I am not sure Hayama feel like this too or not, but it’s possible that since his inferior complex is increasing, he might be thinking that Haruno ignores him already, because the aura of the dark warrior is too dark, and it overshadow [good things he is trying, such as helping the committee, etc.] and even his existence.


In the last part of Hayama’s love plan, I will explain more about this topic. I think Hayama’s belief toward Hachiman’s intention will change into something that is similar with his previous belief.

And after it changed, he will carry this belief until LN v8 (at least).


I will end the first part for now.

If you reach to this point, you would know Hayama’s love plan about 50-60% that happened in the School Cultural Festival already. The next post will be the last part of his love plan so you will know his love story until the festival ends. I will not hold back in that part either.

Hayama Hayato (葉山 隼人) is trying to seals Hikigaya Hachiman (比企谷 八幡)'s mouth. (Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Comedy wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru. Yahari Ore no Seishun Rabukome wa Machigatte Iru. Oregairu My Youth Romantic Comedy Is Wrong, as I Expected. My Teen Romantic Comedy SNAFU やはり俺の青春ラブコメはまちがっている。 俺ガイル 果然我的青春戀愛喜劇搞錯了。 anime ep 12)

(I will explain why he is so angry to Hachiman too.)

Don’t miss it!!

And in order to not miss the next post, you can ((Follow this blog)) by clicking Follow button below. ⇓ The newest post will reach you before anyone.

mailOr if you don’t have WordPress account, you can ((Subscribe)) this blog with your mail by type your email address in form below and click Follow button ⇓ , so the newest post will warp to you instantly.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


After you read my analysis, if you have some thought about Hayama Hayato, or even other characters, you can write in ((Comment)) form below. I want to read every comments from readers because your opinion is important.

followIf you think this analysis is worth enough to let others read this too, you can ((Share)) by using share buttons below. ⇓

Other Oregairu analysis that happened in the same time.

This is the previous analysis that focused on the same period but different character, Haruno. If you want to know what his crush is planning that time…

Related Oregairu analysis you should not miss!

Before Hayama will realize that Haruno is looking for someone, this incident happened before he met her again between LN v3-4.

Hayama’s feeling toward Haruno is not what happened with no any clue. If you want to know when/how he realized that the person he has feeling for, is interested his acquaintance, this post will help you. Also the first battle of him to defeat his love rival lies there.

How Haruno treats to Hachiman and Hayama are so different although the School Cultural Festival ended for a long time. Let’s see how she treats them at the doughnut cafe (LN v8, anime Zoku ep3).

Hayama’s feeling still doesn’t change. So when he comes to the doughnut cafe as her command, what he sees is… another nightmare.

During the School Cultural Festival, Hayama used people to help his secret plan secretly, but he tried by himself mostly. But in the LN v8, his style is still the same, but he used people 100% instead.

2 thoughts on “Oregairu Analysis – “LOVE Plan ♥” of Hayama Hayato During The Cultural Festival? The Time to Reveal This Has Come! (The First Part)

  1. Miandro says:

    As someone who has been an avid fan of Oregairu, your take on Hayama Hayato’s inner workings has been enlightening so far.

    In the second season of the anime series, I’ve always thought that Hayama did not like Hachiman because it was either he hated his low self-esteem, or how twisted Hachiman’s solutions are, or Hachiman acting out as some sort of victim as a solution to every problem. But I never thought about jealousy coming into one of the reasons.

    Hayama probably did thought that Hachiman was trying to win Haruno over by being helpless since that’s how she swings (helpless guys are her type? idk). It is quite possible since as you said, “people only think of other people by their words and actions.”

    This series is always great when it comes to people’s psychology and making it interesting for a viewer. It makes people think deeper for each character as they are relatable and feel very real.

    I love these kinds of articles. I’m looking forward to the second part. Also, have you written about the whole Hachiman, Yui and Yukino affair? Seeing that you’ve read the light novel more than what I hope to, I was hoping to read about your thoughts about it.

    Keep writing more of these! <3

    Liked by 1 person

    • YahariBento ( ^ v ') says:

      Thank you for your praise, Miandro.

      In the second season of the anime series, I’ve always thought that Hayama did not like Hachiman because it was either he hated his low self-esteem, or how twisted Hachiman’s solutions are, or Hachiman acting out as some sort of victim as a solution to every problem.

      Actually, I thought the same with you too. But it is not consistent with Hayama’s anger, so I look for other reasons instead.

      This series is always great when it comes to people’s psychology and making it interesting for a viewer. It makes people think deeper for each character as they are relatable and feel very real.

      Totally agree.

      have you written about the whole Hachiman, Yui and Yukino affair?

      Although I never write about the whirlpool in the service club except what happened LN v5-6, but I think I notice something interesting one or two (such as in LN v7 – Kyoto trip). However, I am sorry I can’t write about this topic, since it’s kinda sensitive issue. Actually, I ever discussed with some people who have analysis focused on those three and other characters, but they will not reveal in public. And I understand their decisions, since it’s sensitive issue, and Yukino & Yuigahama are VERY popular characters.

      I hope you will give me your opinion more in the future. Since the next post will descend to this blog soon.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

